The Gentle Waves - Swansong For You

The Gentle Waves - Swansong For You

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 20/04/2024
Format LP 
Label Jeepster
Catalogue Number JPRLP11

Pressed for the first time on vinyl since its initial release in November 2000, ‘Swansong For You’, the second album from The Gentle Waves, will now be available through Jeepster Recordings on 20th April 2024 for Record Store Day.

Recorded during her time with Belle and Sebastian, this was Isobel Campbell’s second The Gentle Waves album. It features Stuart Murdoch, Stevie Jackson, Chris Geddes, Richard Colburn and Mick Cooke from Belle and Sebastian, as well as Jonny Quinn from Snow Patrol and Eugene Kelly of The Vaselines.

The album features arrangements by the Scottish Bafta-winning, neo-classical composer PaulLeonard-Morgan, who has scored several movies and TV series (Fellow Travelers, The Pigeon Tunnel), and works in collaboration with Philip Glass.

The album was recorded in Glasgow at CaVa Studios during late 1999/early 2000 and the atmospheric retro video for ‘Falling From Grace’, set in a hair salon, was directed by Isobel. The standout tune, ‘Falling From Grace’ has featured in several ad campaigns (Ozdilek) and movies (Pumpkin, Swimfan). The song ‘Pretty Things’ has also appeared in ad campaigns and movies (Pringle, All The Days Before Tomorrow).

A1. Let The Good Times Begin
A2. Partner In Crime
A3. Falling From Grace
A4. Loretta Young
A5. Sisterwoman
B1. Solace For Pain
B2. Flood
B3. Pretty Things
B4. There Is No Greater Gold
B5. There Was Magic, Then…