The Bolshoi - Country Life
The Bolshoi - Country Life
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, The Bolshoi - Country Life
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, The Bolshoi - Country Life

The Bolshoi - Country Life

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 03/05/2024
Format 2LP Orange & Green
Label Beggars Banquet
Catalogue Number BBQ2545LP

The Bolshoi released three albums during their existence, but they also recorded a fourth album that was never officially released during their tenure. Provisionally titled ‘Country Life’, it was released in 2015 as part of a limited 5CD box set. Beggars Arkive are excited to now release it on vinyl for the first time.

‘Country Life’ consists of demos recorded for the album, and many of these only survived on reference cassettes but were digitally restored. The label are especially thrilled that Trevor Tanner has recorded a brand new acoustic reimagining of the song ‘Dolores Jones’, made specifically for this release.

The Bolshoi were different. Their songs were dark and subversive, sufficient evidence for many critics to corral them under the ‘Gothic’ banner at the time of their debut - but they really only ‘flirted’ with Goth. They oozed dark, pensive lyrics supported with
inventive pop-goth guitar making them nearly impossible to categorize.

The suburban surrealism of the lyrics was rooted in the stories from characters on the fringes of society rather than brooding romantics, with an undercurrent of boredom, inadequacy and violence. Not the usual themes for pop success!

Based in London, the band consisted of Trevor Tanner (lead vocals, guitar), Nick Chown (bass), Jan Kalicki (drums) and Paul Clark (keyboards). With powerful live shows, The Bolshoi built a substantial following before disbanding in 1988.

Coloured vinyl double LP (one disc is green, the other red) in gatefold sleeve.


A1. World In Action &
A2. Under the Shed %
A3. What’s Your Favourite Colour #
A4. Country Life $
B1. We Don’t Want Him Here #
B2. Boy From The Nursery World %
B3. Long Tall Sally in a Black Dress #
B4. Too Late &
C1. Out There in the Distance &
C2. Castaway +
C3. Dolores Jones *
C4. Yee Hee #
D1. Madame Hecate #
D2. Last Chance for the Slow Dance $
D3. Everything Is Done for You Today &
D4. Dolores Jones 2023 (Re-imagined acoustically by Trevor Tanner)

& demos August 1988
% recorded at Matrix Studios 1987
# recorded at Falconer Studios March 1988
$ demos January 1988
+ demo March 1988
* out-take from Lindy’s Party sessions