Royksopp - Profound Mysteries

Royksopp - Profound Mysteries

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date  29/04/2022
Format CD/ Cassette
Label Dog Triumph
Cat No. DOG051CD/ DOG051CA

“As human beings, what we don’t know vastly overshadows what we do know. As teenagers, we would discuss our own fascination and preoccupation with the infinite and the impossible – the most profound mysteries of life.” Svein Berge & Torbjørn Brundtland

Röyksopp unveil Profound Mysteries, an expanded creative universe and a prodigious conceptual project.

On January 1st, 2022 Röyksopp launched the film (Nothing But) Ashes… and fans were encouraged to Press «R». Alongside the Kasper Häggström-directed short film BJA, a second piece of music, The Ladder, was released. A new artefact and visualiser, created by Australian contemporary artist Jonathan Zawada, brought the music to life. All elements are accessible through the Profound Mysteries portal. A premiere of The Downfall by Marc Reisbig f0llowed, and another chapter was revealed with Impossible featuring Alison Goldfrapp—the first human voice to be heard on Profound Mysteries. A third artefact and visualiser designed by Jonathan Zawada expanded the collection.

Profound Mysteries will be available from 29th April 2022. Expect more chapters from the Profound Mysteries Universe to be unveiled soon.

Formats - CD and cassette only, vinyl to be announced.

Back in 2014, Röyksopp released what was billed as their final album, The Inevitable End. While Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland vowed to continue making music together, they announced that this was “goodbye to the traditional album format”. Since then, the Norwegian electronic duo remained busy, soundtracking a comedy theatre show based on the work of Franz Kafka, contributing to Rick Rubin’s Star Wars Headspace compilation, and dipping into their archives for the Lost Tapes reissue series.


1. (Nothing But) Ashes…
2. The Ladder
3. Impossible (feat. Alison Goldfrapp)
4. This Time, This Place… (feat. Beki Mari)
5. How The Flowers Grow (feat. Pixx)
6. If You Want Me (feat. Suanne Sundør)
7. There, Beyond The Trees
8. Breathe (feat. Astrid S)
9. The Mourning Sun (feat. Suanne Sundør)
10. Press «R»