Motörhead - On Parole

Motörhead - On Parole

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 09/10/2020
Format 2LP
Label Sanctuary Records
Catalogue Number 190295264666

Expanded & Remastered.

Newly remastered from the original analogue tapes, Motörhead’s ‘On Parole’ is to be re-released on 9 October as part of National Album Day. Available as a single CD and double-LP, it features six bonus tracks that include a previously unreleased original version of ‘Iron Horse / Born to Lose” and a previously unreleased demo version of ‘Fools’. Other bonus tracks include ‘On Parole’, ‘City Kids’, ‘Motörhead’ and ‘Leaving Here’.

There are new liner notes written by founder member Lucas Fox, the band’s original drummer, and features rarely seen photographs and archive content. It will be released with a rare Canadian version of the cover artwork and is the only Motörhead album that features the original line-up of the band (Lemmy on vocals and bass, Larry Wallis on guitar and vocals, and Lucas Fox on drums). Lucas Fox features on all the tracks, including those that Phil Taylor added his drums to.

Originally completed in 1976, ‘On Parole’ was the first-ever recorded material by Motörhead, but was released in 1979 after it was originally held-back by then record label United Artists. The album proved to be the starting point of one of the most important bands in rock history, these early recording sessions set Motörhead’s uncompromising sound and became a turning point for Lemmy who would now become front and centre of his own band and, unintentionally, one of the most iconic, influential and celebrated figures in rock music. ‘On Parole’ was eventually released in 1979 becoming the band’s fourth ‘released’ album.

The album proved to have a massive impact on British musical culture like very few albums have ever had and became the bridging point from rock to heavy metal and then to punk. With Lemmy having been sacked from space/progressive rock legends Hawkwind, he once again started to hang out with old friend Lucas Fox who shared a multitude of passions and beliefs, and from this Motörhead was born. Purposefully loud, aggressive and provocative, their songs were short, sharp, shocks instead of songs with 20-minute guitar solos. They were unrelenting to their audience... and they loved it.


LP1 Side A:
1. Motörhead (2020 Remaster)
2. On Parole (2020 Remaster)
3. Vibrator (2020 Remaster)
4. Iron Horse / Born to Lose (2020 Remaster)

LP1 Side B:
5. City Kids (2020 Remaster)
6. Fools (2020 Remaster)
7. The Watcher (2020 Remaster)
8. Leaving Here (2020 Remaster)
9. Lost Johnny (2020 Remaster)

LP2 Side A:
10. On Parole (Original Take)
11. City Kids (Original Take)
12. Iron Horse / Born to Lose (Original Take)

LP2 Side B:
13. Motörhead (Original Take)
14. Leaving Here (Original Take)
15. Fools (Demo Version)