Kraftwerk - Remixes

Kraftwerk - Remixes

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 25/03/2022
Format 3LP
Label Parlophone
Catalogue Number 0190296504761

The compilation showcases Kraftwerk’s immense influence on Club & DJ culture, techno and all forms of electronic dance music. Featuring 19 official remixes, it collates Kraftwerk’s own remixes alongside contributions from some of the world’s biggest DJ’s and producers including François Kervorkian, William Orbit, Étienne de Crécy, Orbital, Underground Resistance, DJ Rolando and Hot Chip. The remixes are taken from various Kraftwerk 12” singles, CD singles and digital releases from 1991-2021.

The album also plays host to Kraftwerk’s very latest Kling Klang studio output with ‘Non Stop’, and remixes of ‘Home Computer’ and ‘Tour De France (Etape 2)’. ‘Non Stop’ actually began life as a soundbite recorded for MTV in the 1980s, but in 2020, Kraftwerk took the original 30 second sound clip and then transformed it into a full 8 minute odyssey as it appears here.

Fans and collectors will be pleased to see the inclusion of the William Orbit Hardcore Mix of ‘Radioactivity’ which was previously only available on the 1991 US 12”, other notable additions include DJ Rolando’s reworking of ‘Expo 2000’, Francois K’s & Étienne de Crécy’s remixes of ‘Aéro Dynamik’, Kraftwerk’s own remix of ‘The Robots’ (‘Robotnik’) and Hot Chip’s extended mix of ‘La Forme’. Whilst all the featured remixes are available on streaming services, physical copies have long been out of print, so this triple vinyl and double CD release is a welcome addition to the Kraftwerk catalogue, and particularly a must have for electro DJs.

It’s significant that ‘Remixes’ features some of the biggest DJs in the annals of club culture, since the link between Kraftwerk and DJs has played an integral role in the band’s legacy. The seeds of which were sown in New York one night in 1977 when, on a visit to an afterhours club, Kraftwerk founders Ralf Hütter and Florian Schneider witnessed Afrika Bambaataa cut up ‘Trans Europe Express’ and ‘Metal On Metal’ across 2 turntables, stretching it into a 20 minute extended mix that had Black America dancing on its feet. Then came ‘Planet Rock’’ and the rest is history...


Side 1
1. "Non Stop"
2. "Robotnik" (Kling Klang mix)
3. "Robotronik" (Kling Klang mix)
Side 2
1. "Home Computer" (2021 single edit)
2. "Radioactivity" (William Orbit Hardcore remix - Kling Klang edit)
3. "Radioactivity" (Francois Kervorkian 12 Inch remix)
Side 3
1. "Expo 2000" (Kling Klang mix 2002)
2. "Expo 2000" (Francois K & Rob Rives mix)
3. "Expo 2000" (Kling Klang mix 2001)
Side 4
1. "Expo 2000" (DJ Rolando mix)
2. "Expo 2000" (Orbital mix)
3. "Expo 2000" (Ur Thought 3 mix)
Side 5
1. "Aero Dynamik" (Kling Klang Dynamix)
2. "Aero Dynamik" (Alex Gopher/Etienne De Crecy Dynamik mix)
3. "Aero Dynamik" (Francois K Aero mix)
Side 6
1. "Tour De France (Etape 2)" (edit)
2. "Aero Dynamik" (Intelligent Design mix By Hot Chip)
3. "La Forme" (King Of The Mountains mix By Hot Chip)