Various Artists - Too Slow to Disco presents Yacht Soul – The Cover Versions RSD21

Various Artists - Too Slow to Disco presents Yacht Soul – The Cover Versions RSD21

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 17/07/2021
Format 2LP Yellow
Label How Do You Are? 
Catalogue Number HDYARE7LTD

RSD 2021 Drop 2 Limited Yellow/Orange edition. 

TSTD returns with another trip into the musical past of the sundrenched Westcoast: This time DJ Supermarkt unearthed 16 Soul & Funk versions of original Westcoast/AOR/Yachtpop gems. You can find tracks originally performed by Fleetwood Mac, The Doobie Brothers, Hall & Oates, Steely Dan, Wings covered by big Soul & Funk legends like Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, Quincy Jones, Brothers Johnson and more.

Most of the tracks have been recorded in the late 70s/early 80s, but failed to become big hits and fell under the radar. Like Chaka Khan doing a seriously funky version of Fleetwood Mac’s „Everywhere“ (from an unreleased album recording), next to obscure reworks like Leslie Smith’s version of „Nothin’ You Can Do About It“ by the overlooked Airplay (Jay Graydon and David Foster). There are especially surprising versions here, like Millie Jackson’s gospel-like rendering of „This Is It“ by Kenny Loggins/Michael McDonald, or Billy Paul’s „Black Power“-influenced version of Paul McCartney/Wings’ „Let Em In“ and the rare cover of The Beach Boys’ „God Only Knows“ by Betty Everett. Overall another TSTD collection of smooth, sunny, extremely soulful and funky tracks, that needed to be dug-out to be heard again. This is Bottled Sunshine!

A1. The Main Ingredient – Summer Breeze (Seals & Croft)
A2. Dee Dee Bridgewater – He’S Gone (Hall & Oates)
A3. Tavares – I Hope You’Ll Be Very Unhappy Without Me (Bill Labounty)
A4. Betty Everett – God Only Knows (Beach Boys)
B1. The Ebonys – A Love Of Your Own (Ned Doheny)
B2. Pointer Sisters – Dirty Work (Steely Dan)
B3. Leslie Smith – Nothin’ You Can Do About It (Airplay)
B4. The Brothers Johnson – In The Way (Jeff Porcaro/Toto)
C1. Greg Phillinganes – Lazy Nina (Donald Fagen)
C2. Peabo Bryson – Minute By Minute (Doobie Brothers)
C3. Chaka Khan – Everywhere (Fleetwood Mac)
C4. Aretha Franklin – What A Fool Believes (Doobie Brothers)
D1. Billy Paul – Let ‘Em In (Wings)
D2. Side Effect – Georgy Porgy (Toto)
D3. Quincy Jones – Takin’ It To The Streets (Doobie Brothers)
D4. Millie Jackson – This Is It (Kenny Loggins & Michael Mcdonald)