Various Artists - Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy presents ‘Balearic Breakfast’ Volume 3

Various Artists - Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy presents ‘Balearic Breakfast’ Volume 3

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 07/06/2024
Format 2LP
Label Heavenly
Catalogue Number HVNLP224

A relentlessly curious DJ, producer, radio presenter, curator, remixer, audiophile and host, Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy is unquestionably dance music’s renaissance woman. This third instalment of her hugely acclaimed compilation series is another sunshine-soaked homage to that most amorphous of aural outposts – Balearic. Here there are no rules, just an ever-shifting musical essence that echoes Jose Padilla’s assertion that Balearic is not a sound, but rather a way of life. A spirit. Most of these tracks have never been available on vinyl before, the others are long out of print.

"Murphy's definition of Balearic seems more tied to music's capacity to take you to limitless backdrops than it is to any specific destination, a natural outlook for a curator whose career has been one long, fruitful journey." Resident Advisor

1. Jonathan Wilson - Desert Raven - Californian artist/producer Jonathan Wilson’s laconic opening track is a glorious high plains drift of a track that takes flight on a descending guitar part that’s equal parts Laurel Canyon and Las Salinas beach.

2. Jacob Gurevitsch - Elevation in Minor (Cosmodelica Remix) - Cosmo’s own mix of Danish jazz guitarist Gurevitsch’s Elevation in Minor rides a gentle bossa nova groove to create a perfect piece of easy listening made for with space stations in mind.

3. Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra - San Diego (Tour Werks After Hours Mix) - A modern reinvention of the Laurel Canyon sound that mixes lo-fi drum machines, spiralling acoustic guitars and a whole lot of blue-eyed soul.

4. Quintus Project - Night Flight (Original) - A piece of private press Balearic soul music from Germany that was originally released in 1987, this classic was unearthed in 2011 by Jazzanova and reissued in all its sunset-on-Salinas Beach glory.

5. Pigeon - Infinity (Josh’s Extended Disco Mix) - Kentish five-piece Pigeon’s brooding cowbell heavy synthesiser stomp keeps on growing and positively glowing as it rolls out its loose limbed groove over nearly twelve minutes.

6. Shunt Voltage – Generator - A relentless electro-throb from the North West of England, Shunt Voltage’s Generator is the sound of a strobe lit basement room perfect for the time that the clocks stop making sense.

7. Mildlife - Return To Centaurus (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) - Norwegian super producer Prins Thomas returns to active dancefloor service by taking the Melbourne psychedelic fusion group dancing in outer space, leading them past distant galaxies on a hypnotic, slow-motion nine minute analogue synth stomp.

8. David Holmes featuring Raven Violet - Stop Apologising (Cosmodelica Instrumental) - Driven by a nimble bass line and a brilliantly choppy rhythm guitar line, Collen turns David Holmes’ strident Stop Apologising into a perfect slice of warped and relentless hands in the air disco-funk.

9. Zero 7 - On My Own - Although known for a whole host of classic downtempo and ambient tracks, ‘On My Own’ sees Zero 7 turn in a piece of insistent disco funk custom built to obliterate forward thinking dance floors.

10. Primal Scream - Uptown (Andrew Weatherall Remix) - Untouchable producer and regular Primal Scream collaborator Andrew Weatherall’s rearrangement of a track from the band’s 2008 album Beautiful Future dresses the original up in nine and a half minutes of melodica-led futuristic electro-disco glitter.


1. Jonathan Wilson ”Desert Raven”
2. Jacob Gurevitsch “Elevation in Minor” - (Cosmodelica Remix) 
3. Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra “San Diego” - (Tour Werks After Hours Mix) 
4. Quintus Project “Night Flight” (Original) 
5. Pigeon “Infinity” (Josh’s Extended Disco Mix) 
6. Shunt Voltage “Generator” 
7. Mildlife “Return To Centaurus” - (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) 
8. David Holmes featuring Raven Violet “Stop Apologising” - (Cosmodelica instrumental) 
9. Zero 7 “On My Own” - (12" version)
10. Primal Scream “Uptown” - (Andrew Weatherall Remix) - 09.35