Simon Raymonde - Solo Works 96-98

Simon Raymonde - Solo Works 96-98

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date 09/12/2022
Format 2LP
Label Bella Union
Catalogue Number BELLA001V

Simon Raymonde recorded his solo album ‘Blame Someone Else’ while still in Cocteau Twins. Fellow Twins Elizabeth Fraser and Robin Guthrie appeared on ‘Blame Someone Else’, as did late-period member Mitsuo Tate.
 But Cocteau Twins were no more by the time it was out. Originally issued in October 1997 it became the first release on Bella Union, a new label run by Robin and Simon. And now by Simon alone. Circumstances change and Blame Someone Else unexpectedly arrived in a world where Cocteau Twins were in the past.
 Twenty-five years later, ‘Blame Someone Else’ is now being released under the name ‘Solo Works 96-98’, appearing on vinyl for the first time with the addition of the three bonus tracks from 1998’s Japan-only edition. “It was begun in 1996 at a time of turmoil with Cocteau Twins,” says Simon of the album now. “At the time, I was unsure if I should make the album but my band-mates were extremely supportive, their encouragement helped me get the record finished. It took me 25 years to feel comfortable with these songs being available again. We all have hurdles to get over before we can feel ready to let go of certain things. Today, I feel that the first-ever release on Bella Union should once again be an active part of the label’s history, if only to bookmark these first 25 years.”


1. It's A Family Thing
2. Love Undone
3. Seventh Day 
4. In My Place
5. Supernatural
6. If I Knew Myself
7. It's Raining Today
8. Muscle and Want
9. Worship Me
10. Fault Of Mine
11. Days
12. Tired Twilight (Edit)
13. Summer's Blue
14. Left Untouched, The Flowers Grow
15. Let Love In