Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080
Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080

Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Format 2LP Hyacinth Vinyl
Label Creme Organization
Catalogue Number CRLP11

Irrepressible Dutchman Legowelt is to release a new album in the coming months. Entitled ‘Crystal Code 2080’, it will come on Crème Organization and has been preceded by a sampler EP that featured one track from it.
The ‘2080’ part of the album title is taken from the Roland JV2080, a legendary digital synthesizer from the nineties that was used a lot in the making of the album. Bought second-hand in Tokyo for a couple of hundred dollars, it lends the record a very dewy eyed soul, whilst the ‘Crystal’ part of the title stands for the self-made ‘DIY germanium crystal compressor’ Legowelt used throughout the writing process.
The album itself features ten new tracks of pure Legowelt music mainly recorded in The Hague in the past year, but also on the road during tours of LA, the Californian desert, Tokyo (which spawned ‘Crystal Cult 2080’) and Tejada Gran Canaria (where ‘The Future of Myself’ was written.) Where his last album The Paranormal Soul was an organic trip into misty forests, this one seems more concerned with medieval spirits; it’s deeper, darker and the whole thing is tied together by a more coherent sense of ancient alchemy.
Given the use of a DIY germanium crystal compressor during production, it’s no wonder everything feels warm, fuzzy and mystic in a way that draws your attention in like that fabled philosopher’s stone... glare too long and you might just turn to stone. Right from the opening track the mood is so encapsulating you are drawn right into Danny Wolfers’ mysterious electronic world. From there various different tempos are explored and plenty of famed synthesiser work comes to the fore, wrapping grooves in trippy themes, impish spirits and plenty of organic lushness.
Crystal Cult 2080 is sure to prove another lucid and distinctive chapter in the ever-captivating story that is the musical career of Legowelt.


1. Experiential Awakening 
2. Ancient Rites Demoni Mundi 
3. Excalibur R8MK2 
4. Psychotic Endurance 
5. How I Live 
6. The Future Of Myself 
7. Fundamental Superstition 
8. Crystal Cult 2080 
9. When The Spring Comes Again 
10. Cyberspace Is Still Happenin' for Real 
11. Lighthouses & Fried Fish Disks 
12. A Distant Meadow in Your Soul