The Joy - The Joy
The Joy - The Joy
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, The Joy - The Joy
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, The Joy - The Joy

The Joy - The Joy

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date: 21/06/2024
Format: LP Colour/
Label: Transgressive
Catalogue Number: TRANS795X/

South African acapella group The Joy announce their self-titled debut album on Wednesday 27th of March with ‘You Complete Me’ single that premieres at Huw Stephens’ 6Music show at 16:30, and Laura Laverne will then follow with a Fantastic Beats spin. The album is due 21st of June on Transgressive.

The Joy, a five-piece acapella group from South Africa is releasing their self-titled debut album which was recorded and captured on film in one take at Paul Epworth’s Church Studios in late 2023.

The Joy sing about the big stuff – the power of dreams, religious faith – but actually when they address the harrowing specifics of day to day life, these are the moments that assume even greater emotional magnitude.

In the right hands, these songs can open the gates of heaven, so perhaps it’s not so surprising that, for The Joy, they open up the gates to places they’d never imagined they’d see with their own eyes. Having met and formed at high school, they quickly amassed a large TikTok following thanks to their stunning performance posts. Alicia Keys and Jennifer Hudson pronounce themselves fans, the latter calling them “my favourite group” and inviting them onto her US talk show.

Produced by longtime champion Two Inch Punch The Joy sounds like nothing else competing for your attention in the modern musical firmament. And, displaying the brotherhood that they say bonded them together from their very first session, they insist that the music speaks to them all with one voice, telling them what to do before they themselves are even aware of it.


1 Uhlenge
2 Amaqatha Amancane
3 Mama ka Nomthandazo
4 Bayang'khethela
5 Mama uleli Kanjani
6 Ngiphuphe Ngilele
7 Mashaya kancane
8 uBaba Uthwelekanzima
9 You Complete Me
10 Amandla ka Moya
11 Jesu